Friday, September 26, 2014

Vibrational scale of consciousness

I received this email from a reader regarding my mention in last week's NorthPoint Journal of David R. Hawkins' vibrational scale of consciousness and the emotions associated with each:
"Thank you for such an insightful explanation of Pluto and the scale of emotions. I wonder if you'd be able to add examples of how the positive emotions score on the scale -- stepping stones towards resonating more love! I seem to remember hearing years about Shame being lowest and Gratitude being very high, which explains why things go so much better on a day when we feel and express appreciation than on a day when we complain about things!"
In answer to this request, I'm posting the entire scale of consciousness here, which you will find explained more fully in Dr. Hawkins' book Power vs. Force. The first word in each is the Level, followed by the Vibrational numeric equivalent in parentheses, then the Emotion, then the Process:
  • Shame (20): Humiliation, Elimination
  • Guilt (30): Blame, Destruction
  • Apathy (50): Despair, Abdication
  • Grief (75): Regret, Despondency
  • Fear (100): Anxiety, Withdrawal
  • Desire (125): Craving, Enslavement
  • Anger (150): Hate, Aggression
  • Pride (175): Scorn, Inflation
  • Courage (200): Affirmation, Empowerment
  • Neutrality (250): Trust, Release
  • Willingness (310): Optimism, Intention
  • Acceptance (350): Forgiveness, Transcendence
  • Reason (400): Understanding, Abstraction
  • Love (500): Reverence, Revelation
  • Joy (540): Serenity, Transfiguration
  • Peace (600): Bliss, Illumination
  • Enlightenment (700-1,000): Ineffable, Pure Consciousness
It's been so long since I've read the book, I'm sorry to say I do not recall how Dr. Hawkins arrived at his numeric levels -- but I do remember that the process was very scientific, which makes sense for an MD/PhD!

1 comment: